is that all there is?

back to blogging. the first crazy week of the semester consumed me. so now let’s catch up.

paris, france- bread and romance.

“Is that all there is, is that all there is
If that’s all there is my friends, then let’s keep dancing
Let’s break out the booze and have a ball
If that’s all there is”
-peggy lee

I decided that for the past five years, I have been unhealthily obsessed with the idea of Paris. too many books read, one room too many decorated, and too much thought dedicated to france. The city was indeed beautiful and the sights the most unique in europe, but paris is also reality. It isn’t the idealized land of sophistication I once considered it to be.

The trip had many hurdles that we tripped over, but in the end I couldn’t have been happier that I was able to finally see Paris with my eyes and put to death so many of my unfounded conceptions.

Just to clarify, there was no disappointment, just a reconstruction of perception. Paris was an amazing experience and another reminder to keep to reality.

in the end, i left paris not with a fluttering of the heart and fantasized mind,
but knowing that
1. paris is large, don’t walk across the city
2. the city must be the world’s leading consumer and producer of bread
3. i need to return.

3 thoughts on “is that all there is?

  1. felicia, you always know how to make my mouth smile.
    thank you for your encouragement.
    stories is the goal, i am glad it is coming out.

  2. i have noticed that your photographs of people have superb photojournalistic quality. They don’t just look good, they tell stories. I don’t see this often in college students so it makes me rather excited.

  3. you and your dead trees are the perfect combination.
    i love this so much.
    i love you and your thoughts even more.
    love love love.

Say Something

